The Bedgerabong Picnic Race Club is a member of the Central West Picnic Race Association and the NSW Picnic Racing Association. We are registered with Racing NSW which enables us to access all the services associated with thoroughbred racing in NSW.

Club History

The name Bedgerabong is derived from the aboriginal Badjarri Bong which literally translates to a place of good water. The spelling of the village name has been at the centre of some controversy for many years with numerous variations used since the community was established in the 1800’s … Badjarribong, Bedgerebong, Bedgerabong …

smh-bedgerabong-races-1923The Bedgerabong Picnic Race Club was established in the early 1900’s with a handful of local volunteers from the Bedgerabong community.  Racing commenced at the current location in the 1920’s. Here is an excerpt from the Sydney Morning Herald (Friday 4 May 1923) with the results of the races!

Our Club, has an Executive Team and Committee of more than 50 volunteers. This is quite unique and shows the wonderful community spirit that still exists in Bedgerabong, along with many other small country towns in New South Wales.



A strong committee of locals runs the Bedgerabong Race meeting and in 2007 we were awarded Community Race Club of the Year by Racing NSW.

Current Committee members include:

Angus Bird, Tara Bird, Ian Brockmann, Bill Brown, Daniel Brown, Kelvin Brown, Peter Charleson, Nathan Clarke, Dan Colley, Darren Collier, Alex Constable, Arnold Constable, Joe Constable, Peta Constable, Russ Constable, Tim Currey, Rebecca Dance, Paul Darcy, Hugh Ellis, Darren Gannell, Fay Green, Tayler Green, Bradley Harrison, Angus Herbert, Laurie Hocking, Colin Hodges, David Hodges, Frances Hodges, Greg Hodges, Kerrie Hodges, Mark Hodges, Neil Hodges, Michael Jeffery, Alan Marsh, Andrew McKeller, Natalie Ostler, Nathan Ostler, Jimmy Rodgers, Simone Rodgers, Russell Sams, Chris Simmonds, Ian Simmonds, Tom Simmonds, Barry Straney, Gary Straney, Peter Watson, Graham Whilley.

We would like to welcome our newest committee members and thank those who have had a long association with the club. If anyone is interested in joining our committee please contact the president.

Life Members & Patrons

Our Life Members and Patrons are a very important part of our club. These people are truly treasured, and have been honoured with this title due to their many years of work and dedication to the club.

Arnold Constable
Bill Brown
Joe Constable
Peta Constable
Russ Constable

Colin Hodges
Francis Hodges
Greg Hodges
Mark Hodges
Wayne Hodges

Christopher Simmonds
Robert Smith
Barry Straney
Robert Wood


Past Cup Winners










Security Code

Financial Gain



Sea Commands

Poker Pro

Carry the Dance


W Casey GC Riley & R Riley

Barber, Jessop, Jessop, Milliner, Barber

Thompson, Mason, Godson, Burns, Robinson, Stern, Roche, Martin, Martin

WL Robb & AJ Delaney

R M Weinert

K R White

C J & B W Head